Skip to content
Nottingham Counts — Nottingham, in numbers.Local help →

Nottingham · England

People and living standards

Nottingham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Nottingham

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Nottingham local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 279,428 in 1991 to 325,765 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Nottingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 276,704 people in 1996; 325,765 people in 2025. 17.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991279,428
1992279,783
1993278,692
1994277,215
1995277,613
1996276,704
1997278,594
1998277,365
1999273,537
2000270,739
2001268,939
2002271,769
2003275,547
2004279,624
2005284,834
2006286,459
2007288,164
2008290,783
2009294,808
2010299,753
2011303,899
2012307,436
2013308,681
2014310,339
2015313,265
2016317,625
2017320,378
2018322,323
2019323,160
2020322,822
2021319,978
2022326,632
2023327,193
2024330,561
2025325,765
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Nottingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 59,473 people in 1996; 58,148 people in 2025. 2.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,429
199257,702
199358,562
199459,272
199559,696
199659,473
199759,644
199859,104
199956,521
200054,561
200152,695
200251,795
200351,018
200450,433
200550,775
200651,497
200752,090
200852,938
200953,714
201054,615
201155,703
201256,275
201356,897
201457,509
201558,271
201659,504
201760,088
201860,603
201960,732
202060,379
202159,266
202259,176
202359,371
202459,258
202558,148
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Nottingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 175,630 people in 1996; 227,797 people in 2025. 29.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991179,846
1992179,083
1993177,505
1994175,737
1995175,968
1996175,630
1997177,746
1998177,652
1999177,294
2000177,138
2001177,781
2002181,933
2003186,949
2004192,218
2005197,518
2006198,945
2007200,399
2008202,423
2009205,783
2010209,621
2011212,581
2012214,993
2013215,201
2014216,073
2015218,140
2016220,997
2017223,042
2018224,182
2019224,523
2020224,411
2021222,598
2022228,978
2023229,024
2024232,016
2025227,797
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Nottingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 41,601 people in 1996; 39,820 people in 2025. 4.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,153
199242,998
199342,625
199442,206
199541,949
199641,601
199741,204
199840,609
199939,722
200039,040
200138,463
200238,041
200337,580
200436,973
200536,541
200636,017
200735,675
200835,422
200935,311
201035,517
201135,615
201236,168
201336,583
201436,757
201536,854
201637,124
201737,248
201837,538
201937,905
202038,032
202138,114
202238,478
202338,798
202439,287
202539,820
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 323,635 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottingham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh48,21714.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African32,21510%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups19,0635.9%
White213,43065.9%
Other ethnic group10,7103.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 305,680 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottingham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White218,69871.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups20,2656.6%
Asian/Asian British40,03913.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British22,1857.3%
Other ethnic group4,4931.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 266,988 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottingham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White226,71084.9%
Mixed8,3703.1%
Asian/Asian British17,3556.5%
Black/Black British11,5824.3%
Chinese/Other2,9711.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Nottingham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,203 per person in 1997; £17,696 per person in 2024. 115.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,203
19988,416
19998,909
20009,211
20019,441
20029,599
20039,811
20049,737
20059,896
200610,126
200710,592
200810,864
200910,858
201010,897
201110,919
201211,234
201311,869
201412,305
201512,827
201613,041
201713,193
201813,436
201914,062
202014,302
202114,982
202215,709
202316,784
202417,696
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Nottingham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -22.7% in 1997; -31.8% in 2024. 9.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Nottingham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-22.7
1998-22.3
1999-21.2
2000-22.6
2001-23.7
2002-24.1
2003-24.7
2004-28.3
2005-29.6
2006-30.9
2007-31
2008-31
2009-32.2
2010-32.5
2011-33
2012-33.5
2013-32.2
2014-32
2015-32.6
2016-32.3
2017-33
2018-34.2
2019-33.3
2020-31.9
2021-31.4
2022-31.6
2023-31.4
2024-31.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

24%

21 March 2021 · Nottingham local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Nottingham local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Nottingham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£190,000

July 2026 · Nottingham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,014

August 2026 · Nottingham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.